Posted by: on October 4, 2019 at 5:00 pm

Every October is National Cybersecurity Awareness Month (NCSAM) — a collaborative effort between government and industry to raise awareness about the importance of cybersecurity.

Is this really needed? Don’t most small businesses know about backups, firewalls and other security needs?

While it’s true that many companies are implementing multi-factor authentication and other policies, many small businesses don’t have the know-how or the bandwidth to properly protect their data.

The problem seems to get worse as company size shrinks. This very morning, in fact, we received a phone call from an individual (not affiliated with our clients) looking for help after texting her Social Security number to someone claiming to be her insurance company.

So, while you, clever reader, may be educated and alert to protecting your personal and business data, we still have a lot of work to do.

That’s the point behind Cybersecurity Month: What do you need to do to keep your company’s – and your customers’ – information and data safe from internet predators?

Protecting Your Data Protects Your Business

We’ve written dozens of articles and blog posts to help business owners and managers manage their IT security. In honor of Cybersecurity Month, we’ve rounded up over 30 links to key posts from our archives with threats to look out for, examples to learn from, and what you can do to protect your business and customers.

IT security is a big job. It can be overwhelming to keep up with network security, on top of all of the other things you have to do. If you want your cybersecurity efforts to “just work,” so that you can focus on making your business work, sign up at the right for a cybersecurity assessment with TAZ Networks.

And now, the links:

Cybersecurity How-to:

How TAZ Networks Can Help Manage your IT Security – https://www.taznetworks.com/national-cybersecurity-month-2018/

Managed Network Security – https://www.taznetworks.com/services/managed-it-services/managed-network-security/

Managed Firewall: https://www.taznetworks.com/services/managed-it-services/managed-firewall/

How Good is Your Network Security? https://www.taznetworks.com/services/it-solutions/network-security/

Run Your Updates! https://www.taznetworks.com/run-your-updates/

A Brief Guide to Two-Step Security https://www.taznetworks.com/brief-guide-two-step-security/

How to Defeat 4 Common Phishing Scams https://www.taznetworks.com/defeat-4-common-phishing-scams/

Always Verify Before Wiring Money (Even if Your Boss Asks) https://www.taznetworks.com/always-verify-before-wiring-money-even-if-your-boss-asks/

CEO Tax Day Scam https://www.taznetworks.com/ceo-tax-day-scam/ and the twist added the following year https://www.taznetworks.com/w2-email-scam-plus-bonus/

FBI Says NOT to Pay Ransomware https://www.taznetworks.com/fbi-says-not-pay-ransomware/

Why Keeping an Old PC Running Costs More Than You Think https://www.taznetworks.com/old-pc-costs-more/

Is It Time to Say Goodbye to Flash? https://www.taznetworks.com/time-say-goodbye-flash/

Why So Much Talk About Ransomware? https://www.taznetworks.com/much-talk-ransomware/

Yes, Your Mac Can Get Viruses https://www.taznetworks.com/yes-your-mac-can-get-viruses/

Banks Fail at Information Security – What Small Business Can Learn https://www.taznetworks.com/banks-fail-at-information-security-what-small-business-can-learn/

Are You a “Sitting Duck?” https://www.taznetworks.com/11241-2/

Are You Being Targeted? https://www.taznetworks.com/are-you-being-targeted/

Why Business Owners Should Care About the Yahoo Security Breach https://www.taznetworks.com/business-owners-care-yahoo-security-breach/

5 Reasons Why Running Your Business on Old Tech is Like Throwing Money Down the Drain https://www.taznetworks.com/5-reasons-why-running-business-old-technology-like-throwing-money-down-drain/

Why Do Businesses Stay On Windows 7? https://www.taznetworks.com/why-business-stay-on-windows7/

“Hello, I’m From Tech Support” – How to Know the Real Deal https://www.taznetworks.com/hello-im-tech-support-know-real-deal/

Would This Email Make You Panic? https://www.taznetworks.com/email-make-panic/

Cybersecurity Victims

Lansing Utility Cyber Attack Costs $2.5 Million https://www.taznetworks.com/lansing-utility-cyber-attack-costs-2-5-million/

Study: Ransomware Shuts Down Small Businesses https://www.taznetworks.com/study-ransomware-shuts-small-businesses/

What We Can Learn From the Google Docs Email Scam https://www.taznetworks.com/what-we-can-learn-from-google-docs-email-scam/

Equifax – What Went Wrong and What Now? https://www.taznetworks.com/equifax/

LinkedIn Breach Turns Into a Double Scam https://www.taznetworks.com/linkedin-breach-turns-double-scam/

Cybersecurity Enemies – Naming Names

SCAM ALERT – TAZ Networks Takes Drastic Measures https://www.taznetworks.com/scam-alert-taz-networks-takes-drastic-measures/

Badlock Alert – Major security update https://www.taznetworks.com/badlock-important-preparation-information-need-know/

Urgent – WannaCry Ransomware Warning! https://www.taznetworks.com/urgent-wannacry-ransomware-warning/

Petya and the Threat of Ransomware Fatigue https://www.taznetworks.com/petya-and-the-threat-of-ransomware-fatigue/

Schedule An Appointment






* Required fields

Blog Archive