Posted by: on October 6, 2017 at 2:04 pm

Cybersecurity Month 2017 got off to an appropriate start with the announcement that the Yahoo breach from 2013 was much worse than previously reported.

As if 1/3 of all accounts compromised wasn’t bad enough, we now know that every Yahoo account at the time was breached. Three billion accounts. Every single one.

This news comes on top of the continued unfolding of the frustrating Equifax breach situation. Financial histories for 145 million Americans compromised? Check. Sketchy executive stock sale right after the compromise? Check. Denials? Blame-throwing? Government investigation? Check check check.

Whether you’re on the consumer side of any of these breaches or on the business side, a data breach is a huge headache, to put it lightly.

Wouldn’t it be better if it could all be avoided?

That’s the point behind Cybersecurity Month: What do you need to do to keep your company’s – and your customers’ – information and data safe from internet predators?

Protecting Your Data Protects Your Business

We’ve written dozens of articles and blog posts to help business owners and managers manage their IT security. In honor of Cybersecurity Month, we’ve rounded up 30 (thirty!) links to key posts from our archives with threats to look out for, examples to learn from, and what you can do to protect your business and customers.

Cybersecurity is a big job. It can be overwhelming to keep up with network security, on top of all of the other things you have to do. If you want your cybersecurity efforts to “just work,” so that you can focus on making your business work, sign up at the right for a cybersecurity assessment with TAZ Networks.

And now, the links:

Cybersecurity How-to:

Managed Network Security – https://www.taznetworks.com/services/managed-it-services/managed-network-security/

Managed Firewall: https://www.taznetworks.com/services/managed-it-services/managed-firewall/

How Good is Your Network Security? https://www.taznetworks.com/services/it-solutions/network-security/

Run Your Updates! https://www.taznetworks.com/run-your-updates/

A Brief Guide to Two-Step Security https://www.taznetworks.com/brief-guide-two-step-security/

How to Defeat 4 Common Phishing Scams https://www.taznetworks.com/defeat-4-common-phishing-scams/

Always Verify Before Wiring Money (Even if Your Boss Asks) https://www.taznetworks.com/always-verify-before-wiring-money-even-if-your-boss-asks/

CEO Tax Day Scam https://www.taznetworks.com/ceo-tax-day-scam/ and the twist added the following year https://www.taznetworks.com/w2-email-scam-plus-bonus/

FBI Says NOT to Pay Ransomware https://www.taznetworks.com/fbi-says-not-pay-ransomware/

Why Keeping an Old PC Running Costs More Than You Think https://www.taznetworks.com/old-pc-costs-more/

Is It Time to Say Goodbye to Flash? https://www.taznetworks.com/time-say-goodbye-flash/

Why So Much Talk About Ransomware? https://www.taznetworks.com/much-talk-ransomware/

Yes, Your Mac Can Get Viruses https://www.taznetworks.com/yes-your-mac-can-get-viruses/

Banks Fail at Information Security – What Small Business Can Learn https://www.taznetworks.com/banks-fail-at-information-security-what-small-business-can-learn/

Are You a “Sitting Duck?” https://www.taznetworks.com/small-business-under-attack-cybercrime/

Are You Being Targeted? https://www.taznetworks.com/are-you-being-targeted/

Why Business Owners Should Care About the Yahoo Security Breach https://www.taznetworks.com/business-owners-care-yahoo-security-breach/

5 Reasons Why Running Your Business on Old Tech is Like Throwing Money Down the Drain https://www.taznetworks.com/5-reasons-why-running-business-old-technology-like-throwing-money-down-drain/

Why Do Businesses Stay On Windows 7? https://www.taznetworks.com/why-business-stay-on-windows7/

“Hello, I’m From Tech Support” – How to Know the Real Deal https://www.taznetworks.com/hello-im-tech-support-know-real-deal/

Would This Email Make You Panic? https://www.taznetworks.com/email-make-panic/

The Victims

Lansing Utility Cyber Attack Costs $2.5 Million https://www.taznetworks.com/lansing-utility-cyber-attack-costs-2-5-million/

Study: Ransomware Shuts Down Small Businesses https://www.taznetworks.com/study-ransomware-shuts-small-businesses/

What We Can Learn From the Google Docs Email Scam https://www.taznetworks.com/what-we-can-learn-from-google-docs-email-scam/

Equifax – What Went Wrong and What Now? https://www.taznetworks.com/equifax/

LinkedIn Breach Turns Into a Double Scam https://www.taznetworks.com/linkedin-breach-turns-double-scam/

The Enemies – Naming Names

SCAM ALERT – TAZ Networks Takes Drastic Measures https://www.taznetworks.com/scam-alert-taz-networks-takes-drastic-measures/

Badlock Alert – Major security update https://www.taznetworks.com/badlock-important-preparation-information-need-know/

Urgent – WannaCry Ransomware Warning! https://www.taznetworks.com/urgent-wannacry-ransomware-warning/

Petya and the Threat of Ransomware Fatigue https://www.taznetworks.com/petya-and-the-threat-of-ransomware-fatigue/

Schedule An Appointment






* Required fields

Blog Archive